HomeNewsAPC Cries Foul As Ruling PDP Clears All 33 Oyo Council Chairmanship...

APC Cries Foul As Ruling PDP Clears All 33 Oyo Council Chairmanship Seats

Oyo State’s ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has cleared all chairmanship seats contested in the 33 local government areas, going by results declared by electoral umpire.

Kicking at the announcement, however, the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC) described the exercise as a sham capable of causing the state untold disrepute if allowed to stand.

Chairman of the Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC), Aare Isiaka Olagunju (SAN), made the announcement of the results of the Saturday, April 27 polls on Saturday night.

According to the Oyo State Commissioner of Police, Adebola Hamzat, and other security agencies in the state, the elections were free, fair, credible and violence-free.

However, APC demanded its total cancellation.

According to a statement issued on Saturday in Ibadan by the party’s Publicity Secretary, Olawale Sadare, APC said: “Another opportunity to deepen democracy and return power to the people at the grassroots has had to be missed due to the insensitivity and insincerity on the part of the ruling class in the state.

“With what is happening at the moment in most Polling Units across the state, Gov. Seyi Makinde has again disappointed the whole world. He promised the people that their votes would count today but the opposite is the case. The good people of the state desired to participate in an election to elect a new set of council officials but what they are experiencing is nothing but a sham….

“Even if OYSIEC comes out later to declare all the candidates of the APC, we would not rate this election as credible and acceptable as it falls below the minimum global standard of election conduct.

“The best thing is for the Commission to suspend the exercise and choose another date for proper conduct rather than continue to connive with a few anti-democratic elements in the ruling PDP to perpetrate electoral fraud and desecration of democracy in the land.

“For the avoidance of doubt, OYSIEC started with back and forth position on the need to deploy the Bimodal Voter Accreditation System (BVAS) for the conduct of the poll.

“OYSIEC has failed to accommodate more than 80 per cent of the eligible voters in the state today and there is no way the meagre 20 per cent of people who were lucky to cast their votes in a lawful manner can decide the fate of the vast majority.

“Obviously, the Commission allowed a few people to cast their votes at the polling units while the balance of majority rights to vote was secretly handed down to the PDP. Any electoral victory given behind closed doors is illegitimate, tainted and unacceptable. Therefore, we call for the total cancellation of the whole exercise as it was done today.”


Below are results from each local government as being announced by INEC Returning Officers.

1) Irepo

PDP: 17,497

APC: 2,638


2) Orelope

PDP: 24, 569

APC: 5,519


3) Surulere

PDP: 19,493

APC: 1,619


4) Kajola

PDP: 11, 232

APC: 9,373

SDP: 1,28


5) Ogo-Oluwa

PDP: 9011

APC: 854

LP: 12


6) Olorunsogo

PDP: 8,501

APC: 3002

NNPP: 175


7) Ido

PDP: 20059

APC: 3059

LP: 498


cool Ibarapa East

PDP: 13,896

APC: 1,606

SDP: 08


9) Iseyin


APC: 8,241

NNPP: 581


10) Saki East

PDP: 9,732

APC: 1,571



11) Saki West

PDP: 19,621

APC: 4,920

ADC: 1,846


12) Ogbomoso South

PDP: 20,102

APC: 3,471



13) Ibadan Northwest

PDP: 21,810

APC: 3,848

ADC: 22


14) Ogbomoso North

PDP: 13,681

APC: 4,691

ADC: 11


15) Akinyele

PDP: 66,325

APC: 3,477

ADC: 147


16) Ibarapa Central

PDP: 14,124

APC: 3,500

ADC: 14


17) Ibadan Southeast

PDP: 23,220

APC: 4,265

ADC: 27


18) Atiba

PDP: 19,259

APC: 5,086

ADC: 06


19) Itesiwaju

PDP: 7,303

APC: 3,795


20) Atisbo

PDP: 25,336

APC: 6,567

ADC: 139


21) Egbeda

PDP: 24,573

APC: 5,637

ADC: 30


22) Iwajowa

PDP: 5,610

APC: 2,969

ADC: 150


23) Afijio

PDP: 18,662

APC: 198


24) Oyo West

PDP: 12,974

APC: 3,712

ADC: 90


25) Orire

PDP: 15,301

APC: 5,579

ADC: 12


26) Lagelu

PDP: 65,786

APC: 4,172

ADC: 150


27) Oluyole

PDP: 17,063

APC: 3,536

ADC: 55


28) Ibarapa North

PDP: 17,307

APC: 6,963


29) Oyo East

PDP: 27,567

APC: 3,051

ADC: 16


30) Ona-Ara

PDP: 13,093

APC: 4,187

ADC: 15


31) Ibadan North

PDP: 73,240

APC: 5,548

ADC: 0


32) Ibadan Southwest

PDP: 25,702

APC: 5,978


33) Ibadan Northeast

PDP: 17,920

APC: 7,958

ADC: 0


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Must Read