HomeNewsSokoto Gov Sacks Monarchs Appointed By Predecessor Tambuwal

Sokoto Gov Sacks Monarchs Appointed By Predecessor Tambuwal

Sokoto State’s Governor Ahmad Aliyu has sacked 15 district heads for allegedly aiding insecurity and engaging in land racketeering.

Also, Aliyu accused the previous administration of Senator Aminu Tambuwal of not follow due process in the appointment of some of the district heads.

Making the pronouncement in a statement on Tuesday, April 23, Abubakar Bawa, Press Secretary to the Governor said Aliyu, meanwhile, approved the reinstatement of seven district heads and placed four others under investigation.

He said the reinstatement and dethronement happened on the strength of the recommendation of a committee set up to review the appointments of traditional rulers in the state.

The statement said: “His Excellency the executive Governor of Sokoto state, Ahmad Aliyu Sokoto, PhD, FCNA has approved the implementation of the recommendations made by the committee set up to review the appointments of traditional rulers, renaming of tertiary institutions and the dissolution of governing boards of state parastatals other than the Statutory bodies.

“The district heads of Tsaki and Asara are to retain their positions. The cases involving district heads of Isa, Kuchi, Kilgori and Gagi have been recommended for further investigations.

“Alh. Sama’ila Abdulkadir Mujeli is to return to his former post as Sarkin Rafin Gumbi.

“Nine (9) district heads namely; Unguwar Lalle, Yabo, Wamakko, Tulluwa, Illela, Dogon Daji, Kebbe, Alkammu, and Giyawa are hereby relieved of their appointments, for various offences bordering on insubordination, aiding insecurity, land racketeering, conversion of public properties for personal use, and in the overriding public interest.

“Similarly, six (6) district heads namely; Marafan Tangaza.Sarkin Gabas Kalambaina, Bunun Gongono, Sarkin Kudun Yar Tsakkuwa, Sarkin Tambuwal and Sarkin Yamman Torankawa are hereby dropped for the haphazard and unprocedural processes in their appointments by the immediate past administration as well as their total rejection by their subjects.”

The seven district heads retained are: Aliyu Abubakar III, Ibrahim Dasuki Moh’d Maccido, Abubakar Buhari Salame, Aminu Aliyu Bello, Mahmud Shehu Yabo Mahe, Muntari Muhammad Tukur Ambarura Ambarura, and Malam Isah Aliyu Rarah.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Must Read